Karnataka CM to induct seven ministers into his cabinet on Wednesday evening

Chief minister BS Yediyurappa will induct seven ministers into his ministry at 3.55 pm on Wednesday. He is expected to drop excise minister H Nagesh.

MLAs MTB Nagaraj, and R Shankar who switched sides in 2019 to help Yediyurappa instal the BJP government, are certain to get in. Senior member S Angara and former minister Murugesh Nirani, Aravind Limbavali, and Umesh Katti are also tipped to be inducted.

The most intriguing part of Wednesday’s proposed Cabinet exercise is RR Nagar MLA Munirathna, in spite of winning the December bypolls with a massive lead over his Congress rival, not being considered for ministership. Hectic lobbying, however, continued late into the night with the chief minister trying his best to convince the party bosses to let him have Munirathna on board, and honour the public commitment he made. The RR Nagar MLA was earlier with the Congress and switched sides to back Yediyurappa.

The chief minister is expected to induct MLC CP Yogeshwar if the party bosses don’t approve of Munirathna’s inclusion. Yediyurappa had recently publicly announced he will make the former Channapattana MLA a minister in obvious reference to his contribution in wooing sections of MLAs towards the BJP, and toppling the previous JD(S)-Congress regime.

It is to be seen if the CM will appoint only seven ministers or take one more like the young north Karnataka MLA Aravind Bellad. There are also chances of some surprise names emerging at the last moment. Sections of monsters have also mounted intense lobbying for change in their portfolios.

BJP national general secretary in-charge of Karnataka Arun Singh will be present at the swearing-in ceremony to lend his support to the chief minister and stem any possible signs of dissidence in the MLAs arising from being left of the ministry.

The day saw hectic political activities and lobbying as some ministerial aspirants met the chief minister to convince him to take them in.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com